Sergej Buragin

"It's never too late to start over."

Sergej Buragin was born in 1964 in the small town of Kineshma “in the heart of Russia, on the beautiful Volga River”, and grew up there. In Moscow, he studied electronics and then trained as an engineer.During his military service in the former Soviet army, he spent seven years as an officer stationed in Poland.

However, the disintegration of the Soviet Union at the beginning of the 90s fundamentally changed his life plans. The fixed structures that were previously considered irreversible were dissolved virtually overnight with the coup in Moscow in August 1991. The impossible suddenly seemed possible. Sergei did not hesitate and took advantage of the political upheaval in his homeland to escape.

He came to Germany and asked for asylum. For months, he lived in a refugee hostel, and started again “from ground zero”. In the end, it would take a decade until he finally received a permanent residence permit in Germany. For many years, he worked in restaurants until he had fought for the recognition of his diploma as an electronics engineer. Through his volunteer work as the founder and supervisor of the meanwhile award-winning “Jugend forscht Schüler AG” student research group, he initially came to the vocational school as a substitute teacher in his area of expertise, completed an internship and is now a fully recognized technical instructor of electrical engineering.

In addition, Sergei was engaged for many years as Chairman of the Advisory Committee on migration and integration of his adopted hometown of Neustadt an der Weinstraße, to encourage other asylum seekers and help them when arriving in Germany.

“It’s never too late to start over,” Sergej says today. “I am happy with my new life. Even if the path is often rocky and uncomfortable – it’s worth it”.

More information: www.buragin.com

 

(c) SWR Landesschau 2017

Sergej Buragin

"Es ist nie zu spät neu anzufangen"

Sergej Buragin ist 1964 in der kleinen Stadt Kineschma „im Herzen Russlands, am schönen Wolgafluss“ geboren und dort aufgewachsen. In Moskau studierte er Elektronik und ließ sich dann zum Ingenieur ausbilden. Während seines Militärdienstes in der damaligen Sowjet-Armee war er sieben Jahre als Offizier in Polen stationiert.

Doch der Zerfall der Sowjetunion Anfang der 90er Jahre änderte seinen Lebensplan grundlegend. Die festen Strukturen, die vorher als unumstößlich galten, lösten sich mit dem Putsch in Moskau im August 1991 praktisch über Nacht auf. Das Unmögliche schien auf einmal möglich zu werden. Sergej zögerte nicht lange und nutzte den politischen Umbruch in seinem Heimatland, um zu flüchten.

Er kam nach Deutschland und beantragte Asyl. Monatelang lebte er im Flüchtlingsheim, fing nochmals „ganz von Null“ an. Zehn Jahre sollte es am Ende dauern, bis er schließlich eine unbefristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland erhielt. Lange Jahre arbeitete er in der Gastronomie, bis er sich die Anerkennung seines Diploms als Elektronik-Ingenieur erkämpft hatte. Über sein ehrenamtliches Engagement als Gründer und Betreuer der inzwischen vielfach ausgezeichneten „Jugend forscht Schüler AG“ kam er erst als Aushilfslehrer in seinem Fachgebiet zur Berufsbildenden Schule, absolvierte ein Referendariat und ist nun vollständig anerkannter Fachlehrer für Elektrotechnik.

Darüber hinaus engagierte sich Sergej viele Jahre als Vorsitzender des Beirates für Migration und Integration seiner Wahlheimatstadt Neustadt an der Weinstraße, um anderen Asylbewerbern Mut zu machen und beim Ankommen in Deutschland zu helfen.

„Es ist nie zu spät neu anzufangen“ sagt Sergej heute. „Ich bin glücklich in meinem neuen Leben! Auch wenn der Weg oftmals steinig und unbequem ist – es lohnt sich“.

Weitere Informationen: www.buragin.com

 

(c) SWR Landesschau 2017