Christian Schwab

"There's no such word as "can't"."

Christian, born in 1971, grew up in a time when digitization started and took its course. Even at the tender age of eleven, Christian had his first home computer – since then, information technology has not let go of him.

Christian is actually from a Palatinate workshop with a long family tradition. However, it was quickly clear to him that he only wanted to continue to do handicrafts as a hobby. Instead, after school, he decided to study computer science at the University of Karlsruhe (today, KIT). He gained his first professional experience while studying, having developed and sold cashless payment solutions (chip card systems). After graduating, he began work at a small start-up company in the wild times of the “new economy” and accompanied the company until it was put on the stock market.

After the sale of his employer’s company, he went independent with his own company and specialized at an early stage as a technology service provider for complex Internet solutions. His company ETECTURE supervises some of the largest online projects today in Europe, including BMW, IKEA, British Airways, Volkswagen and DIBA, among others.

Meanwhile, ETECTURE has long since outgrown its infancy, employs over 130 people and is run by a hired management team. Christian wanted something new. For many years, he taught at the Duale Hochschule Mannheim, where he shared his knowledge at the Institute of Digital Media. Also, he is involved now as a mentor and coach for startups. And more recently, the entrepreneurial fever got hold of him again. He founded “Qonvo” – a young consulting company in the field of digital transformation.

For Christian, it is always important that he can work in terms of content – meaning technologically and innovatively – and weave strategic threads in the background. Here, managing relations with people as colleagues, business partners and customers is extremely important. In “networking”, he does not see a job, but a vocation that is fun.

However, in addition to responsibility, the course of his career has brought about contacts, relationships, knowledge, experience, reliability, a down-to-earth approach, curiosity and perseverance. All compatible with the love of his home, the southern Palatinate: “Being a businessman and also travelling internationally does not mean my love for my homeland is a tense relationship, rather that both represent mutually complementary, even beneficial poles.”

 

More information:

ETECTURE – Digital Architects

QONVO – consultants for digital transformation

Christian Schwab

"Geht nicht, gibt's nicht"

Christian, Jahrgang 1971, wuchs in einer Zeit auf, in der die Digitalisierung startete und ihren Lauf nahm. Schon im zarten Alter von elf Jahren hatte Christian seinen ersten Home Computer – seither hat ihn die Informationstechnik nicht mehr losgelassen.

Eigentlich stammt Christian aus einem Pfälzer Handwerksbetrieb mit langer Familientradition. Dennoch war für ihn schnell klar, dass er das Handwerk nur hobbymäßig weiterbetreiben wollte. Statt dessen entschied er sich nach der Schule, Informatik an der Universität in Karlsruhe (heute KIT) zu studieren. Erste Berufserfahrung sammelte er während des Studiums, indem er bargeldlose Bezahllösungen (Chipkartensysteme) entwickelte und verkaufte. Nach dem Studium startete er in den wilden Zeiten der „New Economy“ bei einem kleinen Start-up-Unternehmen und begleitete die Firma bis zum Börsengang.

Nach dem Verkauf seines Arbeitgebers machte er sich mit der eigenen Company selbständig und spezialisierte sich frühzeitig als Technologie-Dienstleister für komplexe Internet-Lösungen. Seine Firma ETECTURE betreut heute einige der größten Online-Projekte in Europa, u.a. BMW, IKEA, British Airways, Volkswagen oder DIBA.

Inzwischen ist ETECTURE längst den Kinderschuhen entwachsen, beschäftigt über 130 Mitarbeiter und wird von einem angestellten Management-Team geführt. Christian hatte Lust auf Neues: Viele Jahre unterrichtete er an der Dualen Hochschule Mannheim, an der er sein Wissen am Institut für Digitale Medien vermittelte. Ebenso engagiert er sich inzwischen als Mentor und Coach für Startups. Und seit Kurzem hat ihn das Unternehmerfieber dann doch wieder gepackt: Er gründete die „Qonvo“ – ein junges Beratungshaus im Bereich der Digitalen Transformation.

Christian ist es immer wichtig, dass er inhaltlich – also technologisch und innovativ – arbeiten bzw. im Hintergrund strategische Fäden spinnen kann. Dabei ist die Beziehungspflege zu Menschen als Kollegen, Geschäftspartner und Kunden immens wichtig. „Networken“ ist für ihn eine Leidenschaft, die Spaß macht und die er immer wieder gerne bei der FollowYourTalent Stiftung einbringt. Seine Kontakte und Beziehungen, sein Wissen, die Erfahrung, Verlässlichkeit, Bodenständigkeit, Neugier und Ausdauer haben uns schon in vielen Projekten weitergeholfen.

Auch wenn der sympathische „Pälzer Bu“ heute in aller Welt unterwegs ist, kommt er immer wieder gerne in die Südpfalz zurück, wo er aufgewachsen ist und heute noch wohnt: „Als Geschäftsmann auch international unterwegs zu sein und meine Liebe zur Heimat stellen für mich kein Spannungsverhältnis dar, sondern sich gegenseitig ergänzende, sogar befruchtende Pole“.

Weitere Informationen:

ETECTURE – Digital Architects

QONVO – Consultants für Digitale Transformation

AUFWERT – Digital Native Consultancy Boutique