Surgical Clinic in Burkina Faso, Africa

Bernhard Rumstadt had a dream. The physician from Freiburg had the vision of building a surgical clinic in Burkina Faso, one of the world’s poorest countries. A clinic with a completely free treatment option for those who could never normally afford an operation.

For a long time, Bernhard had wanted to make a concrete and practical contribution to development aid. Initially, he contacted many development assistance organizations in the 90s, to help locally as a volunteer during his vacation. However, he quickly found that there was no way at that time to offer active support for a short period of time through large organizations. In this way, the idea of working on his own initiative to operate with a team of colleagues in Africa came to him. With the help of numerous supporters in the association which he founded “Operate in Africa e.V.“, Bernhard Rumstadt visited Burkina Faso more and more frequently at the turn of the century. Together with local doctors on site, he and his team conducted operations that were usually not possible due to the complexity of the local circumstances.

The more patients that were treated in only temporarily installed operating rooms, the more urgent the desire for a permanent and stationary solution became. The idea of his own clinic was born. A mammoth project 5,000 km from home.

The Follow Your Talent Foundation supported the passionately pursued idea of Bernhard Rumstadt in many ways. We organized the development of a locally maintainable homepage with donations function for both the association and the clinic project in Burkina Faso (www.surgeons-for-africa.org). In parallel, we arranged a donation of an industrial partner to the amount of US $5,000.00 and realized a crowdfunding campaign on the international donation platform Indiegogo, which in the end brought in more than US $7,000.00 of donations from around the world.

The clinic finally opened in May 2014. Hundreds of on-site operations could be carried out now.

More information: http://www.cliniquesedogo.com

Chirurgische Klinik in Burkina Faso, Afrika

Bernhard Rumstadt hatte einen Traum. Der Mediziner aus Freiburg hatte die Vision eine chirurgische Klinik in Burkina Faso zu bauen, einem der ärmsten Länder der Welt. Eine Klinik mit vollständig kostenloser Behandlungsmöglichkeit für all diejenigen, die sich normalerweise eine Operation niemals leisten könnten.

Schon lange wollte Bernhard einen konkreten und praktischen Beitrag in der Entwicklungshilfe leisten. Zunächst kontaktierte er in den 90er Jahren zahlreiche Entwicklungshilfeorganisationen, um während seines Urlaubs ehrenamtlich vor Ort zu helfen. Allerdings musste er schnell feststellen, dass es damals über die großen Organisationen keine Möglichkeit gab, auch für einen kurzen Zeitraum aktive Unterstützung anzubieten. So enstand die Idee auf eigene Faust mit einem Team von Kollegen in Afrika zu operieren. Mit der Hilfe zahlreicher Unterstützer in dem von ihm gegründeten Vereins „Operieren in Afrika e.V.“ besuchte Bernhard Rumstadt ab der Jahrtausendwende Burkina Faso immer häufiger. Gemeinsam mit den lokalen Ärzten vor Ort führten er und sein Team Operationen durch, die aufgrund der Komplexität unter den dortigen Umständen normalerweise nicht möglich gewesen wären.

Je mehr Patienten in den immer nur temporär aufgebauten Operationssälen behandelt wurden, desto dringlicher wurde jedoch der Wunsch nach einer dauerhaften und stationären Lösung. Die Idee einer eigenen Klinik war geboren. Ein Mammut-Projekt 5.000 km von der Heimat.

Die Follow Your Talent Foundation unterstützte die leidenschaftlich verfolgte Idee von Bernhard Rumstadt in vielfältiger Weise. Wir organisierten die Entwicklung einer dezentral pflegbaren Homepage mit Spendenfunktion sowohl für den Verein als auch das Klinikprojekt in Burkina Faso (www.surgeons-for-africa.org). Parallel vermittelten wir eine Spende eines Industriepartners in Höhe von 5.000,00 US $ und realisierten eine Crowdfunding-Kampagne auf der internationalen Spendenplattform Indiegogo, die am Ende mehr als 7.000,00 US $ an Spenden aus aller Welt einbrachte.

Im Mai 2014 wurde die Klinik schließlich eröffnet. Hunderte von Operationen vor Ort konnten mittlerweile durchgeführt werden.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.cliniquesedogo.com