What is FYT?

The FollowYourTalent Foundation wants to encourage people in all stages of their lives to identify their own needs, strengths and weaknesses. In contrast to the classical talent promotion, which often involves individual excellence, the Foundation supports and promotes people to take unusual paths in life, against inner and outer elements of resistance.

We are absolutely convinced: everybody has his or her own skills and talents. But these are not always obvious and easily identifiable. Many young people leave school without ever asking themselves the question: What do I really want? What interests ME? What is right for ME and what are MY strengths and weaknesses? The FollowYourTalent Foundation would like to help by means of a variety of projects in identifying and using your own talents in an optimal and targeted-oriented manner. In this process, supportive supervision is at the forefront of our activities. We illuminate the life paths of known and unknown figures who have discovered their talents (often in a roundabout way) and organize lectures and workshops with them. In addition, we provide support on both a non-material and material level for individual projects to develop your own talents.

The charitable foundation is fully funded by its own funds as well as donations and endowments.

If you want to go to the source, you must swim against the current.

Projects

The FollowYourTalent Foundation supports young people by means of a variety of projects in unfolding of their own potentials and talents. The following projects were already implemented in the past and supported by the foundation:

Anselm Grün at FollowYourTalent

The well-known Benedictine priest and best-selling author Dr. Anselm Grün in dialogue with the Foundation founders on the great questions of life.

find out more >

Surgical Clinic in Burkina Faso, Africa

With the support of the foundation, the surgical clinic SEDEGO became a reality in Burkina Faso, one of the poorest countries in the world. A clinic with a completely free treatment option.

find out more >

Josefines Blog

Josefine is 18, and she faces many questions: Abitur or training on the job? Jobbing or travelling? What is important to me in life? Where do I want to go? For FollowYourTalent she reports at irregular intervals on what is on her mind, what experiences she has and where life is driving her.

find out more >

Control wheelchairs with brain waves

Three students and their mentor had a vision: “Gedanken, die bewegen” (Ideas that Move) or “Lassen sich Rollstühle tatsächlich nur mit Gehirnströmen lenken?” (Can Wheelchairs Really Be Moved with Brainwaves?)

find out more >

Weekend bursary, film & advertising

As part of a weekend bursary organized by the Foundation in Munich, three entrepreneurs reported in detail in a small circle how they made their dream their profession.

find out more >
Only those who are burning can set others on fire

Mentors

The basic idea of the FollowYourTalent Foundation is that we want to share the experiences and wisdom of people who have found their own way in life.

We have therefore started a mentor program, via which exceptional people from different professional fields sustainably support the Foundation’s ideas, by means of workshops, lectures or simply by means of their personal life history, intended to encourage others. Mentors der FollowYourTalent Foundation include, among others:
Go your own way

About us

The FollowYourTalent Foundation was founded by Thomas Falkenstein and Martin Behrens in 2013.

“Again and again, we both met people during the course of our life who have fascinated us to an extraordinary extent . People that have conveyed, with their actions, their charisma or simply their view of life, that they have “achieved” something in the truest sense of the word. At ease with themselves, close to their ideals, and full of energy and the joy of life. Although in many different fields, these people always had one thing in common: their passion! Passion for an idea, for a project, for a company, for voluntary work. All of them used their individual strengths to drive “what’s important to them” forward. And what we also noticed: usually, these people were not exactly the classic “straight-A students” during their years of schooling. Rather, they were individualists, often “oddballs” or even those who were often dismissed by their classmates as “wackos”.

With our Foundation, we would like to encourage young people in particular to go their own way by helping them to become aware of their individual strengths, but also their weaknesses. We want to create meeting places, where people who have found their way share personal experiences, and thus inspire and motivate others.”

Everyone has talents –
you only need to recognize them.

Was ist FYT?

Die FollowYourTalent Stiftung möchte Menschen in allen Lebensphasen ermutigen, eigene Bedürfnisse, Stärken und Schwächen besser zu erkennen. Im Gegensatz zur klassischen Talent-Förderung, bei der es oftmals um individuelle Höchstleistungen geht, unterstützt und fördert die Stiftung das Beschreiten ungewöhnlicher Lebenswege gegen innere und äußere Widerstände.

Wir sind der festen Überzeugung: Jeder Mensch hat einzigartige Fähigkeiten und Talente. Aber nicht immer sind diese offensichtlich und leicht erkennbar. Viele Jugendliche verlassen die Schule ohne sich jemals die Frage gestellt zu haben: Was will ICH eigentlich? Was interessiert MICH? Was passt zu MIR und wo liegen MEINE Stärken und Schwächen. Die FollowYourTalent Foundation möchte durch verschiedenste Projekte beim Erkennen und optimalem zielorientierten Einsetzen der eigenen Talente helfen. Dabei steht die unterstützende Begleitung im Vordergrund unserer Tätigkeit. Wir beleuchten die Lebenswege bekannter und unbekannter Persönlichkeiten, die (oftmals auf Umwegen) ihre Talente entdeckt haben und organisieren Vorträge und Workshops mit ihnen. Daneben unterstützen wir ideell und materiell bei individuellen Vorhaben zur Entfaltung eigener Talente.

Die treuhänderische Stiftung finanziert sich ausschließlich durch eigene Mittel sowie Spenden und Zustiftungen.

Wer zur Quelle will, muss gegen den Strom schwimmen.

Projekte

Die FollowYourTalent Foundation unterstützt durch verschiedenste Projekte insbesondere junge Menschen bei der Entfaltung eigener Potentiale und Talente. Folgende Projekte wurden in der Vergangenheit bereits realisiert bzw. durch die Stiftung unterstützt:

Anselm Grün bei FollowYourTalent

Der bekannte Benediktinerpater und Bestseller-Autor Dr. Anselm Grün im Dialog mit den Stiftungsgründern zu den großen Fragen des Lebens.

mehr erfahren >

Chirurgische Klinik in Burkina Faso, Afrika

Mit Unterstützung der Stiftung wurde die chirurgische Klinik SEDEGO Wirklichkeit in Burkina Faso, einem der ärmsten Länder der Welt. Eine Klinik mit vollständig kostenloser Behandlungsmöglichkeit.

mehr erfahren >

Rollstühle mit Gehirnströmen steuern

Drei Schüler und ihr Mentor hatten eine Vision: „Gedanken, die bewegen“ oder „Lassen sich Rollstühle tatsächlich nur mit Gehirnströmen lenken?“

mehr erfahren >

Weekendstipendium Film & Werbung

Im Rahmen eines durch die Stiftung organisierten Wochenend-Stipendiums in München berichteten drei Unternehmer hautnah im kleinen Kreis, wie sie ihren Traum zum Beruf gemacht haben.

mehr erfahren >
Nur wer selber brennt, kann andere anstecken.

Mentoren

Grundgedanke der FollowYourTalent Foundation ist, dass wir die Erfahrungen und Lebensweisheiten von Menschen weitergeben möchten, die ihren eigenen Weg im Leben gefunden haben.

Wir haben deshalb ein Mentoren-Programm ins Leben gerufen, über das außergewöhnliche Menschen unterschiedlichster Berufsfelder den Stiftungsgedanken nachhaltig unterstützen - durch Workshops, Vorträge oder einfach durch ihre persönliche Lebensgeschichte, die anderen Mut machen soll. Mentoren der FollowYourTalent Foundation sind u.a.:
Den eigenen Weg gehen.

Über uns

Die FollowYourTalent Foundation wurde 2013 durch Thomas Falkenstein und Martin Behrens gegründet.

„Immer wieder sind wir beide im Laufe unseres Lebens Menschen begegnet, die uns außergewöhnlich fasziniert haben. Menschen, die mit ihrem Handeln, ihrer Ausstrahlung oder einfach ihrer Sicht auf das Leben vermittelt haben, dass sie im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „angekommen“ sind. Ganz bei sich, ihren Idealen sehr nahe und voller Energie und Lebensfreude. Obwohl in vielen unterschiedlichen Bereichen, so war diesen Menschen immer eines gemeinsam: ihre Leidenschaft! Leidenschaft für eine Idee, für ein Projekt, für eine Firma, für ein Ehrenamt. Allesamt haben sie ihre individuellen Stärken genutzt, um „ihr Ding“ voranzutreiben. Und was uns dabei noch aufgefallen ist: in der Regel waren diese Menschen gerade nicht die klassischen „Einser-Schüler“ während ihrer Schulzeit. Vielmehr waren es oft Individualisten, oftmals „Querköpfe“ oder gar solche, die von ihren Mitschülern als „Spinner“ abgetan wurden.

Wir möchten mit unserer Stiftung insbesondere junge Menschen ermutigen, den eigenen Weg zu gehen, indem wir dabei helfen, sich der individuellen Stärken, aber auch Schwächen bewusst zu werden. Wir möchten Begegnungsfelder schaffen, wo Menschen, die ihren Weg gefunden haben, persönlichen Erfahrungen weitergeben und somit andere inspirieren und motivieren.“

Jeder hat Talente -
man muss sie nur erkennen.